Archive for the 'databases' Category

New Database Page on Libraries’ Web

July 22, 2009

There is a new improved way to access the Libraries’ electronic resources!
We have reorganized the “Articles via Databases” page on the Libraries’ website to include many discipline-specific categories to assist you with your research. By using these categories, you will see recommended databases and electronic resources selected by the Libraries’ selectors. In many cases, [...]

Worldwide Reaction to Obama’s Speech in Cairo: Read about it at the Library

June 5, 2009

You can read about reactions to President Obama’s speech in Cairo in many sources available through Bobst Library.
I would recommend PressDisplay and MideastWire.
PressDisplay offers full text of newspapers in 39 languages from 82 countries including many from the Middle East. It is available at: https://ezproxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=http://library.pressdisplay.com
MideastWire offers English translations of selected articles from major newspapers in [...]

New Databases

April 10, 2009

FIAF Intl Index to Film Periodicals
Previously on the SilverPlatter platform, is now available from Proquest.
https://ezproxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=http://fiaf.chadwyck.com
Many articles are available in full text; those without full text are linked via SFX.
Retrospective Indexes from Wilson

Short Story Index Retrospective 1915-198
https://ezproxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=http://vnweb.hwwilsonweb.com/hww/jumpstart.jhtml?prod=SHR
Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective, 1913-1983
https://ezproxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=http://vnweb.hwwilsonweb.com/hww/jumpstart.jhtml?prod=ASTR

Essay and General Literature Index Retrospective, 1900-1984
https://ezproxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=http://vnweb.hwwilsonweb.com/hww/jumpstart.jhtml?prod=EDUR

For more recent additions to electronic resources, see
http://library.nyu.edu/collections/databases.html?category=NEW#items

New BobCat to be available on Thursday, July 31st!

July 30, 2008

We are pleased to announce that new BobCat will be available on Thursday, July 31st!
What should you expect with new BobCat? A new generation search and discovery tool with exciting features, including:

One Google-like search interface for books, articles and more
E-books and full-text articles with one click
Amazon-like features including: Did you mean? spell-check; Find more [...]

Hands-on Library Workshops

May 23, 2008

Library workshops start next week but there’s still time to register at http://library.nyu.edu/forms/research/classes.html
LIBRARY TOUR
Tue., May 27, 2:00-2:30 pm
Tue., July 8, 2:00-2:30 pm
FINDING PERIODICAL ARTICLES (USING DATABASES) Wed., May 28, 2:00-3:15 pm Wed., June 11, 6:00-7:15 pm Wed., July 9, 2:00-3:15 pm Wed., July 23, 6:00-7:15 pm
REFWORKS
Thu., May 29, 2:00-3:00 pm
Thu., June 12, 6:00-7:00 pm
Thu., July [...]

Coming Soon: Changes to BobCat

May 7, 2008

In mid-July, we will begin transitioning to a totally new BobCat that will make it simpler for you to find, discover, get, use, share and save all kinds of information. Searching won’t require new skills — but you’ll get more information when you search, and an array of options for finding and using the [...]

LexisNexis Search Tips

March 3, 2008

Place: Conference room in the Reference Center on the 1st floor of Bobst Library
Dates/Times: Tues, March 4th at 6 pm and Wed, March 26th at 3 pm
LexisNexis Academic’s full-text database provides a wealth of valuable content, but it can be hard to find [...]

Citation Indexes: How to do Cited Reference Searching Using Databases

February 26, 2008

PLACE: classroom PC2, Lower Level 1 of Bobst Library.
DATES/TIME: Wednesday., Mar. 5 3:00 p.m., AND Thursday., Apr. 3 — 3:00 pm
The Web of Science, Google Scholar, and other bibliographic databases provide access to a unique search method: “Cited Reference Searching.” Navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all [...]

Spring Library Classes

January 30, 2008

There’s still time to register for the following library classes at http://library.nyu.edu/forms/research/classes.html
Library Tour and Introduction to BobCat

Fri., Feb. 1 — 10:00 am

Thu., Feb. 7 — 2:00 pm

Wed., Feb. 13 — 3:00 pm

Tue., Feb. 19 — 6:30 pm

Finding Periodical Articles (Using Databases)

Tue., Feb. 5 — 2:00 pm
Fri., Feb. 15 — 10:00 am
Wed., Feb. 20 — [...]

ABC Clio History Databases Now from EBSCO

November 7, 2007

America History and Life and Historical Abstracts, formerly from ABC Clio, are now available via the EBSCO platform. Complete content is available, plus the following EBSCO features:

Combine searches with over a dozen other EBSCO databases
Set journal tables of contents or “saved search” alerts and get new results delivered to you by email or RSS
Use EBSCO’s [...]