Archive for the 'databases' Category

Additions to British Periodicals Collection

September 21, 2007

British Periodicals Collection I consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals, the equivalent of 5,238 printed volumes containing approximately 3.1 million pages. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
NYU Libraries has now added access to British Periodicals Collection II:
More than [...]

Off-campus Users: Connect to Electronic Resources Via BobCat

August 22, 2007

Starting Thursday, August 23, 2007, all NYU off-campus users will be able to connect directly to all electronic journals, e-books and other Internet resources listed in BobCat, the catalog of Bobst Library. If you are off-campus, you will be asked to login to the Library’s Proxy Server with your NYU NetID and password. For more [...]

BobCat System Maintenance

August 20, 2007

Due to system maintenance, BobCat, the catalog of Bobst Library, will be unavailable from 7pm Thursday August 23 through 8am Monday August 26, 2007.
To search for items in NYU and nearby libraries, use the WorldCat.org at http://www.worldcat.org. After performing a search, enter the zip code 10012 to see local libraries.
Online and telephone renewals will not [...]

Music and Performing Arts Online Portal

August 8, 2007

Now you can search the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) and the International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) together on one site.
https://ezproxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=http://mpaonline.chadwyck.com/
Of course you can continue to search them separately as well, if you wish.
https://ezproxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=http://iipaft.chadwyck.com/
https://ezproxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=http://iimpft.chadwyck.com/
Additional new features:
1. On the Search Articles page, you can now limit keyword searches to citations only or [...]

ARTstor images linked to CSA Database Records

July 25, 2007

 
A new enhancement to the CSA interface allows users to find images in ARTstor that are associated with bibliographic records in CSA databases. By clicking on the “discovery links,” the researcher is presented with a series of ARTstor images associated with bibliographic records. The value of the most important database for 19th – 21st century [...]

Changes to RLG Databases

June 26, 2007

On June 30, 2007, the following databases, formerly hosted by the Research Library Group (RLG) will be available at the following link locations.

English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)
Now available at the British Library at http://estc.bl.uk
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Now available via the Library of Congress at http://lcweb2.loc.gov/hlas/
Inside Information Plus will be discontinued on June 30, 2007
Similar [...]

Music Online

April 30, 2007

NYU Libraries subscribes to the Music Online series, a collection of databases that includes thousands of audio clips that users can listen to online:
The Classical Music Library
“fully searchable classical music resource—a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings. It includes tens of thousands of licensed recordings.”
Smithsonian Global Sound
“virtual encyclopedia of the world’s musical and aural traditions” [...]

The Chicago Manual of Style Online

April 16, 2007

The Chicago Manual of Style Online, “the bible of the research and publishing community,” is now available from NYU Libraries.
The online Chicago Manual is fully searchable, and also includes the “Chicago Style Q&A,” and “Tools,” with sample forms, letters and style sheets.

New Database on the Literature of Traumatic Stress

March 13, 2007

The Library now subscribes to PILOTS, a database on the literature of traumatic stress. Connect to this timely resource via Cambridge Scientific Abstracts. Here is a sample record. You can use the Library’s “SFX” button to connect to full text.

Mac Problems with EndNote Import? Here’s a Solution

March 7, 2007

If you are a Mac OS X and EndNote user you may have had problems exporting citations from Google Scholar and other online databases. Here’s a solution:
1. Put EndNote in your dock.
2. Export citations from Google Scholar and save them on your desktop.
3. Click and drag the saved citations from your desktop to the EndNote [...]